R.I.P. 2009 CHICAGO WHITE SOX

soxrip.jpg

Wuz good world & welcome to the final edition of White Sox Real Talk for the 2009 season. Well how can i describe this season in one word??? Pathetic would be the word I would use. This team never adapted and identity, they were up & down all year. One game they look phenomenal & then the next they look like a little league team. In this edition I’m going to break down the highs & lows of this team, how the future looks, & who’s coming back & who’s not, so lets get started:
SEASON HIGHLIGHTS:
Now before you laugh keep in mind that I’m trying to keep it positive lol There actually were a couple highlights this season, one being early in the season when JD & Paulie hit their 300th Homers back to back at Comerica Park in Detroit.Also the rise of Gordon Beckham was something that was very pleasant to watch & something that I predicted in my Spring Training reports(you think im lying then go back & read it in the archive) Those were all good but the biggest highlight happened in July when Mark Buerhle became perfect
buehrle that's g (gatorade).jpg
That was one of the best moments I have ever witnessed since being a Sox fan. I just remember thinking the whole game “Could this actually happen?” The pain I felt when I thought he blew it & of course the jubilation after the now infamous “catch” by Dewayne Wise.
dewayne_wise_catch.jpg
And also the excitement after he got the last out…..

THE FUTURE:
You gotta give Kenny Williams credit despite all the garbage baseball that was played he still brought in big names Jake Peavy & Alex Rios & filling in a gap we needed in center field & in the starting rotation.

riosarrives.jpgpeavyw.jpg
Next year in my opinion we will have one of the top 2 rotations in the AL. Just think of it, Peavy, Buerhle, Danks & Floyd & with Freddy as #5. And as bad as Alex Rios has been since he got here you gotta keep in mind that he has had a down year period & I feel with a full spring training with us he will be back to All-Star form.
LEAVING OR STAYING???
JDpods.jpg
I personally believe that we are witnessing the end of an era on the southside & might be watching the last of Scotty Pods & sadly my favorite baseball player Jermaine Dye in a White Sox uniform. You gotta give props to Pods for coming back & having the impact that he did on this team & becoming a huge candidate for comeback player of the year. He had a “Renaissance Year” but I do feel that the Sox won’t bring him back, can you really depend on him another year or was this just a flash in the pan?? Jermaine Dye has not been the same man that he was the 1st half of this season & all his Sox career, he has been batting like .190 with only 4 RBI since the all-star break & ever since Rios came over i feel like he’s turned his back on this team. I hope I’m wrong but I think Kenny will not be bringing them back.
bitetiger.jpg

All in all this has been a very, very disappointing season for my favorite team but with a Great Manager, the best GM in baseball, a rotation with 4 studs, young talent of Gordon Beckham, Chris Getz & Alexei Ramirez, & of course vets like Paulie & A..J. most likely to come back, I think 2010 will be very magical & might be like what happened 5 years ago. Keep ya head up White Sox Nation better times are mos def around the corner…
Until next time PEACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Leave a Reply

